MORNING SCALES THE MOUNTAIN – Morning Scales The Mountain (2018)
October 5, 2018

MORNING SCALES THE MOUNTAIN – Morning Scales The Mountain (2018)


Morning Scales The Mountain
Tags: Post-rock, experimental, instrumental
sw0208 – 2018 – Sinewave


1. The Stars Sit On High
2. Four of Dogs
3. Numinous
4. Out West (download)




“epic improvised psych-rock stretching from pre-dawn deserts to the firmament’s haze”

Morning Scales the Mountain (MStM) is an electric rock trio weaving guitar wail and omnidirectional percussion into high-density (and high-volume) improvised rock epics. Formed in Texas in 2017, the trio is composed of guitarist Tom Carter (Charalambides), Houston drummer and noisemaker John Alan Kennedy, and Brazilian soundscapist André Ramiro on guitar and bass.

Tom Carter‘s electric guitar work weaves strands of melody, drone, fuzz, and charged silence into intricately detailed instant compositions. Best known for his work with iconoclastic acid-folk improvisers Charalambides (which he co-founded with Christina Carter in 1991 in Houston, TX), Tom Carter has focused on solo performances and recordings since 2012. Pitchfork selected his double LP Long Time Underground as the number-one experimental album of 2015.

Drummer and multi-instrumentalist John Alan Kennedy emerged from the lysergic brew of Houston’s late-20th-century outsider music scene as a member of the mysterious electronic project Jesus Penis. Since then, he’s explored the many psychedelic byways of the Texas experimental scene, supplying percussion for free improvisers (the JDP Trio, with Paul Winstanley and David Dove) as well as zoned-out rockers (Dry Nod, Run Trip and Fall, and Rusted Shut). Kennedy’s electroacoustic project Cyclops Joint has been releasing recordings in various formats since 1991.

Guitarist and bassist André Ramiro has deep roots in the noise, experimental and post-rock communities of Brazil. He is best known as member of the expansive and cinematic post-rock band ruído/mm. From 2006-2007, Ramiro operated as one-half of the experimental duo Índios Eletrônicos, a psychedelic stew of guitars and electronics pulling influences from all corners of the universe. Ramiro has performed with numerous rock bands, including Oaeoz and AlphaPsicotics.


Music Composed by Tom Carter, John Alan Kennedy and André Ramiro.
Album Produced by Ryan Edwards and Morning Scales the Mountain.
Recording, mixing and mastering: Ryan Edwards and Shannon Smith at Coincident sound, Houston – Texas, 2018.
Album Art “Siamese EEG” by John Alan Kennedy.
© p 2018 All Rights Reserved.

This project would not have happened without our friends, our family and our pedals and instruments.